Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Coláiste Ríoga na Máinleá in Éirinn

Ireland's first Masters in Pharmacy class graduate at RCSI

18 November 2010

Over 650 healthcare professionals graduate at RCSI's largest conferring day

Graduates from Ireland's first Masters in Pharmacy class were among approximately 658 students conferred at ceremonies which took place at the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (RCSI) on Thursday, 18th November.


Pictured (l-r) Laura Egan and Lydia Finnerty who graduated as part of Ireland's first Masters in Pharmacy class at RCSI

The National Pharmacy Internship Programme, which introduced a Masters in Pharmacy in Ireland for the first time, was launched in 2009 and the first cohort of 139 MPharm graduates were conferred at the ceremonies. The National Pharmacy Internship Programme is delivered by the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (RCSI) on behalf of the PSI (Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland), the pharmacy regulator.


Dr Terry McWade, Deputy CEO, was awarded an MSc in Healthcare, Ethics and Law at the conferring. Pictured (l-r) Darragh McWade, Jakki McWade, Dr Terry McWade, and Hugo McWade

The first MSc in Neurology and Gerontology class from the School of Physiotherapy, RCSI, were also conferred.


Pictured (l-r) are Professor Seamus Cowman, Head of Department, Faculty of Nursing and Midwifery and Shijimol Kurian, who was conferred with a BSc in Nursing.

Professor Eilis McGovern, President of RCSI said "The variety and number of awards being presented here today reinforces RCSI's key role as a leading provider in healthcare education in Ireland. Today's conferring is particularly special for the College with Ireland's first Masters in Pharmacy class being conferred by RCSI. RCSI has extended its expertise in post-graduate healthcare education to the profession of pharmacy as a significant contributor to the delivery of healthcare in the state. I would like to congratulate all the students here today and wish them every success in the future."

Pictured is Ronaldo Co who was awarded an MSc in Nursing.

Dr Ambrose McLoughlin, Registrar/ CEO of the PSI said "Today is a significant event for the profession of pharmacy in Ireland, bringing it into line with international best practice as the new MPharm is now the basis of qualification to join the profession. This will support further developments in pharmacy practice in Ireland to deliver high quality, safe and cost-effective care to patients, in partnership with the other professions. I congratulate all the graduates here today who will have opportunities in the future to make significant contributions to patients, the public and the wider society."


Millin 5 
Pictured are Ms Louise Keating (back row, far left), Ms Dara Muldrum (2nd row, far left), Ms. Helen French (back row, third from right) and Dr Frances Horgan, (front row, right) with the first MSc in Neurology and Gerontology class from School of Physiotherapy, RCSI.


With approximately 658 students being conferred with undergraduate and postgraduate awards at three conferring ceremonies, this is  the largest number of students ever to be conferred in a single day at the College. Degrees were awarded to 247 students in Medicine, Pharmacy, Physiotherapy and postgraduate degrees (including the MPharm). 156 awards will be presented in Degrees of Masters of Science (MSc). The day will culminate with the presentation of 255 nursing awards, which includes 31 graduates of Master of Science Degrees (MSc).