Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Coláiste Ríoga na Máinleá in Éirinn

RCSI Ethicon Travel Grants

This fund was established through the generosity of Ethicon for the purpose of promoting international goodwill in surgery by providing financial assistance to Fellows and Members of RCSI, in good standing, enabling them to travel overseas to visit centres of excellence for clinical training purposes.

Ranging in value from a minimum of €1,000 each (higher amounts at the discretion of the Selection Board), grants are available to trainees at an advanced stage of higher surgical training or who have completed surgical training in the RCSI within the previous two years.

The purpose of the grants is to contribute to the travel expenses of trainees wishing to visit overseas centres of excellence for clinical training purposes.

Application process

The applicant must, before Friday, 17 January 2020, submit the following to Ms Ger Conroy, Department of Surgical Affairs (121 St Stephen’s Green, Dublin 2):


Recipients of the grant must submit a report at the end of their project. Download the report form here.

Previous grant recipients

The following were successful in obtaining an Ethicon Travel Grant:

Year   Recipients
2019 Edel Quinn, Philip J.O'Halloran, Anna L Walsh
2018 Oisin Breathnach, David Coyle, Jaime Doody, John Galbraith, David Kearney,Elizabeth McElnea, Sara Moran, Gregory Nason, Kieron Sweeney, Peader Waters
2017 Anne CollinsNiamh Collins, Paul Carroll, Niall DavisRoisin DolanClaire DonohoeJohn GalbraithPatrick Joseph GroakeJohn KellyPhilip O’HalloranFardod O’KellyPadhraig O’LoughlinColin Pierce
2016 Chee Yean ChanKah Hoong ChangEamon FrancisJustin KellyJey KulasegarahDavid O'BriainJohannes OosthuizenMark QuinlanFiachra RowanStephen RyanDeirdre Seoighe
2015 Joseph BakerAnne CollinsJames FordeHelen HeneghanRory Kennelly, Barry McGuire, Seamus McHughShirley PotterMira Sadadcharam
2014 Derek Cawley, Roisin Dolan, Deirdre Fanning, Eoin Fenton, Ann-marie Kennedy, Darren Liu, Damian McCartanAnthony Stafford, Arun Thomas
2013 Zahraa Al-Hilli, Joseph BakerJames CashmanEimear ConroyIvor Cullen, John Curran, Colin MurphyBrendan O'Daly
2012 Brian DevittOlivia FlanneryClaragh HealyMichael LeonardTimothy M. MurphyKieran PowerJames C. Walsh
2011 Padraig Daly, Rustom Manecksha, Anne C. O'NeillFrazer SmithMyles Smith
2010 Michael Donnelly, Paul O'Neill, James O'Riordan
2009 D. Beddy, Mihai Horia Vioreanu