Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Coláiste Ríoga na Máinleá in Éirinn

Irish Surgical Training Group (ISTG)

ISTG (formerly known as the Irish Higher Surgical Training Group) is an independent entity run by surgical trainees. In addition to organising and running specific events (see below), ISTG represents trainees from all subspecialties and levels of surgical training at a variety of committees influencing training.

For further information visit our website

Committee Membership 2019/2020


President & Plastic Surgery Rep: Christina Buckley

Vice-President & General Surgery Rep: Michael Kelly

Treasurer & ENT Rep: David Brinkman

Secretary & Past President: Ailin Rogers (General Surgery) 


Specialty representatives:

General Surgery: Michael Kelly

Vascular Surgery: Mike Bourke

Orthopaedics: Mike O'Sullivan

Plastics: Christina Buckley

Paediatric Surgery: David Coyle

Neurosurgery: Vincent Healy

ENT: David Brinkman

Urology: Cliodhna Browne

Cardiothoracics: Ronan Kelly

Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery: Paul Sexton

Ophthalmic Surgery:  Maeve Rhatigan   

Core Surgical Training: ST1: Patrick Collins

ST2:  Czara Kennedy


Association of Surgeons in Training:

Representatives: Amy Fowler


Events 2019-2020:

Trainee Careers Day, RCSI, 16th November

Trainee Session on Charter Day, RCSI,  15th February 2020

Annual Trainee Dinner and Awarding of Silver Scalpel: May 2020 (tbc)

Former Silver Scalpel Winners:

2019 Prof James Paul O'Neill

2018 Ronan Waldron

2017 Mr Michael O'Sullivan

2016 Prof Alan Mortell

2015 Prof Paddy Broe

2014 David Waldron

2013 Gerry McCoy

2012 Prof Sean Tierney

2011 Gerry McEntee

2010 Bill Quinlan

2008 Joe Duignan

2007 Bosco O'Mahony

2004 Prof Liam Kirwan