Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Coláiste Ríoga na Máinleá in Éirinn

RCSI celebrates 750 undergraduate and postgraduate awards at November conferring ceremonies

18 November 2014

RCSI (The Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland) conferred more than 750 students with undergraduate degrees and postgraduate awards at four conferring ceremonies which took place on Monday 17th and Tuesday 18th November in the Convention Centre Dublin and tomorrow at RCSI, 123 St Stephen's Green.

BSc Pharmacy graduates Aislinn Farrington, Melissa Curley, Stuart Duffy, Emma Kennedy, Maria Doherty

The ceremonies commenced in the Convention Centre Dublin at 11am on Monday morning with the conferring of 354 candidates with postgraduate degrees in Nursing and Midwifery. A number of awards were presented at the Nursing and Midwifery ceremony including the National Florence Nightingale Committee of Ireland Award, Mary Frances Crowley Award, the Rose Lanigan Medal and Catherine Cummins Gold Medal.

BSc Pharmacy and Physiotherapy graduates with the Sam Maguire Cup. Pictured (l-r, back row), Clara Alighalib, Donnchadh Walsh (All Ireland GAA football winner), Aisling Dargan (front row), Barry O'Hea, Sarah Dineen, Bridie Kennelly and Stephen O'Rourke.

223 candidates were conferred at the Masters Degree ceremony taking place at 2.30pm on Monday afternoon including Masters in Pharmacy (MPharm), MSc Industrial Pharmaceutical Science and MSc in Bereavement Studies. Institute of Leadership programme candidates being conferred include MSc Healthcare Management, MSc in Leadership, MSc in Leadership in Health Professions Education and MSc in Quality & Safety in Healthcare Management.

Pictured (l-r) are Lenora Fitzgerald (Mary Frances Crowley Award winner), Professor Zena Moore, Head of the School of Nursing and Midwifery and Mr Declan Magee, RCSI President.

On Monday night the Conferring Dinner for pharmacy and physiotherapy undergraduates and School of Postgraduate studies higher degree candidates took place in the College Hall at 7.30pm. Following the dinner, RCSI President Mr Declan Magee, announced the winners of the President's Teaching Awards as Dr Helen French, School of Physiotherapy and Ms. Michelle Flood, School of Pharmacy.

Dr Helen French, School of Physiotherapy receives the President's Teaching Award from RCSI President Mr Declan Magee

A special presentation was also made to GAA All-Ireland Winner Donnchadh Walsh by Professor Hannah McGee, Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences. Donnchadh was member of the winning Kerry football team and is part of the BSc in Physiotherapy graduating class.

Ms Michelle Flood, School of Pharmacy, receives the President's Teaching Award from RCSI President Mr Declan Magee

Tuesday's ceremonies, taking place at RCSI, began at 11am with the conferring of 102 candidates from full-time undergraduate programmes including medicine, physiotherapy and pharmacy.

Professor Hannah McGee, Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences makes a presentation to GAA All-Ireland Winner Donnchadh Walsh

The final ceremony took place at 2pm on Tuesday with the conferring of 72 candidates in Doctoral and Masters degrees. These will be conferred with Masters of Surgery (MCh) and higher degrees by research including MSc, MD and PhD; MSc Healthcare, Ethics and Law; MSc in Neurology and Gerontology; and MSc Human Factors & Patient Safety.

Rana Sako (right) who graduated with a Masters in Pharmacy with her sister Noor Sako (left) who graduated with a BSc Pharmacy at a ceremony the following day

Professor Cathal Kelly, CEO/ Registrar, RCSI said ‘The variety and number of awards being presented over the next two days reinforces RCSI's key role as a leading provider in healthcare education in Ireland. Today marks a celebration and recognition of the graduate's accomplishments which they have achieved through outstanding ability, diligent application, sacrifice, excellent teaching and, in particular the support of family and friends. I would like to congratulate everyone here today on their achievements and wish them success in their careers.'

Pictured (l-r) are MSc graduates from Institute of Leadership programmes, Dr Suzanne Miller-Delaney, Professor Ciaran O'Boyle, Head of the Institute of Leadership, Sumaya Hashim and Bernadette Kearney.

RCSI is a not-for-profit health sciences institute which focuses on education and research to drive positive change in all areas of human health worldwide. RCSI is headquartered in Dublin and is a recognised College of the National University of Ireland. In 2010, RCSI was granted independent degree-awarding status by the State, which enables the College to award degrees alongside its traditional powers to award licentiates.

Pictured are the PhD graduates of the HRB Diagnostics and Therapeutics for Human Disease programme (l-r) Drs Cai Lloyd Griffith, Annichiara Mitrugno, Linda Williams and James Reynolds.