Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Coláiste Ríoga na Máinleá in Éirinn

New President and Council of RCSI

04 June 2014
The Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (RCSI) announces the election of Mr Declan J Magee as the 169th President of the College. Mr Magee takes up office following the College’s biennial council elections today. He replaces outgoing President, Professor Patrick Broe.  

Professor John Hyland, a Consultant Colorectal Surgeon at St Vincent’s University Hospital, has been appointed as the new Vice-President. 

Originally from Co Fermanagh, Mr Declan Magee is a graduate of University College Dublin. He trained in surgery in Ireland and at Guy’s Hospital, London and Harvard Medical School, Boston, before taking up post as Consultant General Surgeon at St Columcille’s Hospital, Loughlinstown and Blackrock Clinic, Dublin.  

Mr Magee has served on the Council of RCSI since 1993 and has chaired most major committees of the organisation. During this time, he has been intimately involved in the governance of surgical practice and training, as well as the many other College activities in the broad field of health sciences education and training. 

He has a keen interest in medical education, having previously chaired the Academic Council of Faculty of Medicine & Health Sciences, at RCSI.

In addition, he has been instrumental in the development of the collaboration between RCSI and the College of Surgeons of East, Central and Southern Africa (COSECSA), a most successful initiative, supported by Irish Aid, which enhances and expands surgical training and, ultimately, the delivery of essential surgical services across this vast region.                                                                                                

Speaking on his appointment, Mr Magee said:  “It is a great honour and privilege for me to be elected as the President of this great institution and follow in the footsteps of my predecessors, both recent and historical. I look forward to leading the college, over the next two years, as it continues to work with the HSE and Department of Health in improving the delivery of safe and efficient surgical services. The successful establishment of the new hospital groups will be a key factor in this task.”

“Retention of our highly skilled, newly trained surgeons within our permanent workforce is a critical issue at this time and requires delivery of a well-resourced working environment and attractive terms of employment.   We are committed to excellence in our delivery of health sciences education and post graduate training and we are excited about the imminent construction of our new €80 million teaching facility.”

“I will continue the work, already begun, of active engagement with our surgical members and fellows, both here and overseas, to build a strong, inclusive and relevant College”, Mr Magee continued.

The 2014 - 2016 Council comprises the following members
President  Mr Declan Magee
Vice-President  Professor John Hyland


* (in order of year of Fellowship)

Professor W Arthur Tanner
Professor Patrick Broe
Professor Tom Gorey
Mr. Parnell Keeling
Mr. Kevin O'Malley
Mr. James Geraghty
Mr. Paul Burke
Mr. Joseph O'Beirne
Professor Patrick Ronan O'Connell
Mr. Michael E. O'Sullivan
Mr. Kenneth Mealy
Mr. David Quinlan
Professor Kevin Conlon
Mr. David Moore
Professor K. Simon Cross
Dr. Laura Viani
Professor Michael Kerin
Ms. Bridget Egan
Ms Deborah McNamara