Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Coláiste Ríoga na Máinleá in Éirinn

RCSI celebrates undergraduate and postgraduate conferring ceremonies

13 November 2013

RCSI (The Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland) will confer almost 700 students with undergraduate degrees and postgraduate awards at five conferring ceremonies taking place today in RCSI and tomorrow in the Convention Centre, Dublin. 

Pictured are BSc Pharmacy graduates

The ceremonies commence in the College today at 10.30am with the conferring of 92 candidates from full-time undergraduate programmes including medicine, physiotherapy and pharmacy. At 1.00pm, 63 students will be conferred with Masters of Surgery (MCh) and higher degrees by research including MSc, MD and PhD.
At 3.00pm, 84 candidates will be conferred with Masters of Science (MSc) Degrees in Bereavement Studies; Healthcare Management; Leadership and Management Development; Leadership in Health Professions Education; and Quality & Safety in Healthcare Management.

Pictured (centre) is Rachel Broe who graduated with a BSc in Physiotherapy with her parents Dr Liz Broe and Professor Patrick Broe, President of RCSI.

Thursday's ceremonies in the Convention Centre will begin at 10.00am with 280 students conferred with postgraduate degrees in Nursing and Midwifery. A number of awards will be presented at the nursing and midwifery ceremony including the Rose Lanigan Medal, Mary Frances Crowley Award and National Florence Nightingale Committee of Ireland Award.

Pictured (l-r) are Professor Patrick Broe, President, RCSI; Professor Ruairi Brugha; Dr Sara McAleese (PhD graduate), Professor Hannah McGee, Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences; and Professor Cathal Kelly, CEO

The final ceremony takes place at 1.00pm with 155 conferred with Masters of Pharmacy and 22 candidates will be awarded an MSc in Industrial Pharmaceutical Science.

Pictured are the HRB Scholars in Diagnostics (back row, l-r) Dr Harry Harvey, Dr Conn Hastings, Dr Liam Burke, Dr Aine Nolan, Dr Cormac Jennings (front row) Dr Niamh Connolly, Dr Mark McCormack and Dr Katie Nolan

Professor Cathal Kelly, CEO/ Registrar, RCSI said ‘The variety and number of awards being presented over the next two days reinforces RCSI's key role as a leading provider in healthcare education in Ireland. Today marks a celebration and recognition of the graduate's accomplishments which they have achieved through outstanding ability, diligent application, sacrifice, excellent teaching and, in particular the support of family and friends. I would like to congratulate everyone here today on their achievements and wish them success in their careers.'

Pictured (l-r) are Attracta Halpin, Registrar, NUI; Professor Brian Harvey, Professor of Molecular Medicine, RCSI; Dr Harry Harvey; Professor Niamh Moran, Head of the School of Postgraduate Studies, RCSI; and Dr Maurice Manning, Chancellor, NUI.

Founded in 1784, RCSI's mission is to develop healthcare leaders who make a difference worldwide. RCSI is a not-for-profit health sciences organisation which focuses on education and research to drive positive change in all areas of human health worldwide. RCSI is headquartered in Dublin and is a recognised College of the National University of Ireland.

Pictured (l-r) are Mr Karim Ayoubi (MCh), Professor John O’Byrne and Mr Robbie Woods (MCh)

Pictured (l-r) are Margaret Culliton (MSc in Leadership and Management Development), Dr Pauline Joyce, Mary Kelly(MSc in Leadership and Management Development)

Pictured (l-r) are (back row) Professor Cathal Kelly, CEO with Hugh Carroll, Anne Weadick, (middle row) Dr Jim O’Neill, Mary Boyd, Dr Zena Moore, Dr Kitty O'Connor, (front row) Professor Hannah McGee, Dean, Dr Tommy Kyaw Tun, Fiona Daly and Prof Ciaran O’Boyle, Head of the RCSI Institute of Leadership.

Pictured (l-r) are MPharm graduates Colin Connaghton, Sinead Ryan and William Whyte

Pictured is the graduating MSc in Industrial Pharmaceutical Science group with academic staff

Pictured (l-r) are Sara Paul, winner of the Florence Nightingale Medal; Edna Woolhead, Dean; Babymole Thomas, winner of the Florence Nightingale Medal; Zena Moore, Head of School; Mary Smith, winner of the Rose Lanigan Medal