Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Coláiste Ríoga na Máinleá in Éirinn

New President and Council of RCSI

06 June 2012
The Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (RCSI) announces the election of Mr Patrick Broe as the 168th President of the College. Mr Broe took up office following the College's biennial council elections on Wednesday 6th June. He replaces outgoing President Professor Eilis McGovern. Mr Declan Magee, a Consultant General Surgeon at Blackrock Clinic has been appointed as the new Vice-President.

President & Vice-President

(L-R) Mr Patrick Broe, President of RCSI and Mr Declan Magee, Vice-President of RCSI

Mr Patrick Broe is a graduate of University College Dublin. He is a Consultant General Surgeon in Beaumont Hospital, Dublin. A distinguished clinician and academic, he is a Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland and has authored and co-authored more than 60 research papers. His predominant interests throughout his career have been laparoscopic, upper G.I. and thoracic surgery.

Speaking on his appointment, Mr Broe said: "I am both extremely honoured and humbled to assume the role of President of this great Institution. There is no doubt that we are living and working in an era of both unprecedented challenges as well as opportunity within the Irish healthcare system. We are committed to continue to collaborate with all stakeholders to enable patients to receive the highest possible quality of surgical care. Surgical training is also critically impacted by the shape and structure of our health service. RCSI has an on-going focus in making sure that our surgical training programmes continue to attract, train and produce excellent surgeons that meet the needs of our health service. I will continue the great work of my predecessors to engage actively with our surgical Fellows and Members, both in Ireland and overseas to build a strong and inclusive College".

Four new members of Council have been elected. These are Mr Michael E. O'Sullivan, Mr David Moore, Professor Kevin Conlon, Mr Keith Synnott.

The 2012-2014 Council comprises the following members

 President Mr Patrick Broe
 Vice-President Mr Declan Magee


(in order of year of Fellowship)

Mr Frank McManus
Professor A.E. (Freddie) Wood
Professor John Hyland
Professor W Arthur Tanner
Mr Parnell Keeling
Professor Tom Gorey
Mr Michael Kevin O'Malley
Professor Eilis McGovern
Mr Joseph O'Beirne
Professor Patrick Ronan O'Connell
Mr Michael E. O'Sullivan
Mr David Moore
Professor Kevin Conlon
Mr Kenneth Mealy
Dr Laura Viani
Professor Michael Kerin
Professor Frank Keane
Professor Michael Earley
Mr Keith Synnott