Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Coláiste Ríoga na Máinleá in Éirinn

Professor Clive Lee awarded Honorary Fellowship of Trinity College

17 April 2012

Professor Clive Lee, Professor of Anatomy at the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (RCSI) has been awarded an Honorary Fellowship from Trinity College Dublin. Professor Lee is a world leading authority on the biology of bone tissue and received the honour in recognition over 20 years of interdisciplinary research involving anatomists from RCSI and engineers from Trinity.

Clive Lee
Pictured is Provost of Trinity, Dr Patrick Prendergast (left) and Professor Clive Lee, Professor of Anatomy, RCSI (2nd from right) with his daughter Sophie and wife Hannah.

The announcement was made by the Provost of Trinity, Dr Patrick Prendergast, on Monday 16th April at a ceremony to mark the annual Trinity Week celebrations. Also receiving an Honorary Fellowship was President of Ireland, Michael D. Higgins, in recognition of his commitment to education throughout the course of his career.

A Trinity graduate, Clive Lee is a Fellow of both RCSI and the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh. He obtained his PhD in bone biomechanics at Trinity and his MD for work undertaken while a Fulbright Scholar at the Orthopaedic Biomechanics Laboratory at Harvard Medical School. He was appointed Professor of Anatomy at RCSI in 2002 and at the Royal Hibernian Academy in 2007. He has been Visiting Professor of Biomechanics and Tissue Engineering at Trinity College since 2003 and is a Principal Investigator in the Trinity Centre for Bioengineering where he chairs the Executive Committee.
He is a Chartered Engineer, past President of the Section of Bioengineering of the Royal Academy of Medicine in Ireland (2000-02) and past President of the European Society for Engineering and Medicine (2003-07). He was awarded the Fulbright Medal in 2003 and the Samuel Haughton Silver Medal and his Sc.D. for published work in 2010. He is currently Honorary Secretary of the Anatomical Society and Chair of the Life Sciences Committee of the Royal Irish Academy.