Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Coláiste Ríoga na Máinleá in Éirinn

RCSI Postgraduate Conferring Ceremony takes place

11 July 2011

Approximately 100 healthcare professionals were conferred with postgraduate awards at a conferring ceremony in the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland on Monday 11th July 2011.  These included Fellowships of RCSI in Cardiothoracic Surgery; General Surgery; Neurosurgery; Ophthalmology/ Ophthalmic Surgery; Otolaryngology; Plastic Surgery; and Trauma and Orthopaedic Surgery.

PG Conferring
Pictured with the President of RCSI Professor Eilis McGovern are (l-r) Professor Chintamani and Mr Maqsood Manzoor Elahi, who were awarded Fellowships of RCSI Ad Eundem.

Memberships of the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland including Ophthalmology were awarded as well as Fellowships and Memberships of the Faculty of Dentistry and Memberships of the Faculty of Sports and Exercise Medicine.

PG Conferring Dentistry
Pictured with the Professor Gerard Kearns, Dean of the Faculty of Dentistry, RCSI are (l-r) Dr Juan Pando Kelly, Dr Lisa Walshe and Dr Claire Hevican who were awarded Memberships of the Faculty of Dentistry, RCSI.

Fellowships of RCSI Ad Eundem were awarded to Professor Chintamani and Mr. Maqsood Manzoor Elahi and Fellowships of RCSI by Special Election were awarded to Professor Ravi Kant and Professor Bina Ravi.

PG Conferring Travel Awards Fellowships 
Pictured (l-r) are Mr James O'Riordan, recpient of RCSI Surgical Travel Grant; Professor Sean Tierney, Dean of Professional Development and Practice, RCSI; and Mr Brian Barry, recipient of RCSI Surgical Travelling Fellowship.

RCSI Surgical Travel Grants were awarded to Mr Jürgen Mulsow, Mr James O'Riordan and Ms Eimear Phelan. Mr Brian Donncha Barry was awarded with an RCSI Surgical Travelling Fellowship.

PG Conferring 
Pictured (l-r) are Ms Amna Al Bulushi, who was conferred with Membership of RCSI; Professor Eilis McGovern, President, RCSI; and Dr Khalid Al Farsi.

Speaking at the conferring ceremony, Professor Eilis McGovern, President of RCSI congratulated new Members and Fellows on their success in reaching these exciting milestones in their careers and wished them all the very best as they continued to strive for their goals.

PG Conferring Dentistry 
Pictured (l-r) are Dr Denise Bowe and Dr Daire Shanahan, who were conferred with Memberships of the Faculty of Dentistry, RCSI.