Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Coláiste Ríoga na Máinleá in Éirinn

600 RCSI students don their gladrags for annual College Ball

13 March 2016
Dublin's Convention Centre recently played host to the RCSI (Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland) Annual College Ball. Some 600 students from the schools of Medicine, Pharmacy and Physiotherapy set aside their studies for the evening and donned their finest in one of the most successful college balls to date. The attendees were treated to a three course dinner followed by dancing into the small hours. 
During the evening, the annual Sports Clubs & Societies Awards took place. Arief Naimun, Societies Officer, acted as MC for the Societies awards and presented trophies to the following:

•  Society of the Year 2016 - Photography Soc
•  Societies Person of the Year 2016 - Danya El Gahzel 
•  Fresher of the Year 2016 - Ciaran Fitzgerald 
•  Best New Society 2016 - SurgeonsFM 
•  Best Event 2016 - Ballad Session

Mohammad Alhazmi of the Sports Union oversaw the presentations of the Sports Awards. Mohammad himself was awarded Sports Man of the Year and attendees were amused as he presented the award to himself. Other award winners on the night included:

•  Sports Woman of the Year 2016 - Aoife Bourke 
•  Sports Club of the Year 2016 - Table Tennis 
•  Sports Captain of the Year 2016 - Vivien Chern Yong Tan

The Alan Johnson Trophy for Excellence in Sport was awarded to Manpreet Bajwa. 
Student Union President, Randhir Seetaram, delivered a welcomed and informative speech highlighting the year experienced by the Student Union. He entertained and amused the attendees with tales and anecdotes of the highs and lows of life as a member of the Union. He thanked his team for all their hardwork and dedication and for supporting him every step of the way. He also expressed thanks to Student Services, Dean Hannah McGee and Vice Dean Orna Tighe for their help and support throughout the year.
Congratulations to Paul Fox and Fiona Bolger, Student Union Events Officers and the Student's Union Luke Hughes, Vice President/Education Officer, Beth Wolfe, Welfare Officer, Fahad Alabdullatif, IT Officer/Secretary and Arief Naimun, Societies Officer for putting together such a successful event. Both worked diligently behind the scenes for months, giving up countless hours and dealing with daily issues arising to make the ball one of the most successful events in the student calendar. Their huge inputs and efforts are recognised here.