Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Coláiste Ríoga na Máinleá in Éirinn

Professor Clive Lee (Head of Department)

Clive Lee

Thomas Clive Lee, PhD, MD, ScD (Dubl), FRCSI, FRCSEd, FAS, CEng, FIEI, HRHA, HonFTCD
Professor of Anatomy

Tel +353 1 402 2260

Clive Lee is Professor of Anatomy in the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (RCSI) and the Royal Hibernian Academy (RHA) and Visiting Professor of Biomechanics in Trinity College Dublin (TCD).

In 1980, he was awarded a Medical Research Council - Wellcome Trust Scholarship to undertake an intercalated degree in physiology in TCD. After qualifying in medicine and Internship, he was a Demonstrator and Locum Lecturer in Anatomy in TCD, 1985-87, obtaining his MSc in anatomy. He joined the Dublin Surgical Training Scheme and became a Fellow of both the Dublin and Edinburgh Royal Colleges of Surgeons in 1989. In the same year, he was appointed Lecturer in Anatomy in RCSI. In 1995-96, after obtaining his PhD in bone biomechanics, he was a Fulbright Scholar at the Orthopaedic Biomechanics Laboratory, Harvard Medical School and was awarded his MD in 1997. He was appointed Chairman of Department in 2000 and Professor of Anatomy in RCSI in 2002, and in the RHA in 2007. He was appointed Visiting Professor of Biomechanics and Tissue Engineering in TCD in 2003 and was elected an Honorary Fellow of TCD in 2012.

He is a Chartered Engineer, past President of the Section of Bioengineering of the Royal Academy of Medicine in Ireland (2000-02) and past President of the European Society for Engineering and Medicine (2003-07). He was Chair of the Life Sciences Committee of the Royal Irish Academy (2009-13), which he represented on the Biosciences Steering Panel of the European Academies' Science Advisory Council. In 2003, he was awarded the Fullbright Medal and, in 2010, the Samuel Haughton Silver Medal and his ScD for published work.

He is a member of the Editorial Boards of Technology & Health Care and the Journal of the Mechanical Behavior of Biomedical Materials. He was elected a Fellow of the Anatomical Society in 2012 and served as its Honorary Secretary (2011-13). In December 2013, he was elected the President of the Anatomical Society.

His research interests and Publications are in microdamage and bone remodelling related to osteoporosis and functional anatomy.