Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Coláiste Ríoga na Máinleá in Éirinn

History of the Faculty of Nursing & Midwifery

The inauguration of the Faculty of Nursing & Midwifery took place at RCSI on 30 October 1974 under the leadership of Ms Mary Frances Crowley (pictured).

Mr Mary Frances Crowley

The Faculty is one of the longest-serving providers of nurse education in Ireland and has over the last four decades provided nurses and midwives from a variety of clinical nursing specialties with a diverse range of programmes, at BSc, Postgraduate Diploma, MSc and PhD levels, to enhance their theoretical understanding and clinical knowledge. Nursing and midwifery education at RCSI was provided through the Faculty of Nursing & Midwifery as well as through a School of Nursing (Certificate in Nurse & Midwife Prescribing).

A review of the Faculty and School of Nursing & Midwifery was commenced in March 2013 by PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) to evaluate the future for post graduate nurse/midwife education at the RCSI. The final report proposed the transfer of all programmes mapped to the National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ) to the School of Nursing & Midwifery which will be accountable to the Medicine & Health Sciences Board of the Faculty of Medicine & Health Sciences. This plan was implemented on 30 September 2014.

The Board of the Faculty of Nursing & Midwifery consists of a Dean and 12 members and it is bound by the constitutions of RCSI and the Council of the College. The Faculty of Nursing & Midwifery Dean’s Medal is mounted on a black background with eight stars symbolising the essential qualities of leadership.


Faculty of Nursing Dean's Medal
  • Knowledge
  • Wisdom
  • Responsibility
  • Coordination
  • Conciliation
  • Cooperation
  • Availability
  • Prudence


Read about the 40th Anniversary of the Faculty of Nursing & Midwifery here.

First Honorary Fellow of the Faculty canonised

The Faculty of Nursing & Midwifery was delighted to acknowledge the canonisation of the Faculty’s first Honorary Fellow, Mother Teresa of Calcutta. Pope Francis declared Mother Teresa a saint at a canonisation mass in St Peter's Square, Vatican City on 4 September 2016. She will be known as St Teresa of Calcutta.  

Mother Teresa

Pictured at the Honorary Conferring of Mother Teresa in Rome, 1992: Ms Josephine Bartley (Former Dean); Ms Brigid C. Walsh (Former Dean); Ms Mary Appleby (Former Dean); Mother Teresa of Calcutta; Mr J. Dermot O’Flynn, (Former President, RCSI); Mr Joseph G. Grace (Former Chief Administrator, RCSI)