background image
the PresiDent writes
An update from Professor Patrick Broe, President, RCSI.
06 interview:
Dr Brent eastman
Dr Brent Eastman, MD FACS, President of the American
College of Surgeons (ACS), who was recently awarded an
Honorary Fellowship of RCSI, talks to Surgical Scope.
rcsi leaDs revaliDation Programme in qatar
A new Irish company, Medical Validation Ireland has been
established to manage the Hamad Medical Corporation
Assessment and Revalidation Programme.
conferring ceremonies
Congratulations to the new Fellows and Members who
graduated at the conferring ceremony in July.
charter Day
Charter Day provides a useful forum for knowledge sharing
and debate.
14 cover story:
new moDel of care for acute
Professor Frank Keane, Past President RCSI, Retired
Consultant Surgeon and Mr Ken Mealy, Joint Leads of the
National Clinical Programme in Surgery which developed the
Model, share their insights.
no wait emergency DePt
J. Stephen Bohan, Executive Vice Chair of the Department
of Emergency Medicine at Brigham and Women's Hospital,
Boston, provides an overview of the `no wait emergency
New Model of Care for Acute Surgery. Major research funding
for RCSI. Professional Development Programme for NCHDs.
news gallery
`Surgical Bootcamp' for Trainees. Postgraduate Conferring
Ceremony. Professor Lord Ara Darzi awarded Honorary
Doctorate of RCSI.
esPo's international congress set for
DuBlin next summer
The 2014 Biannual International Congress of the European
Society of Paediatric Otorhinolaryngology will take place at the
National Convention Centre in Dublin from May 31 to June 3,
new surgical training Pathway
Eunan Friel, Managing Director Surgical Affairs, RCSI, on
changes in surgical training.
fellowshiPs anD awarDs
A guide to Fellowships and Awards opportunities and details of
successful recipients for 2013.
memBershiP exams
RCSI offers a new format for Membership Exam, Part B.
Professor Ahmed Abdel Aziz Yacoub FRCSI (Hon), 1931-2013.
Luxury cars.
The Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland,
123 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin 2.
Tel: + 353 1 402 2100. Email: Web:
Editorial Board:
Niamh Burdett, Eunan Friel, Louise Loughran, Orla Purcell,
Louise Sherwin, Professor Sean Tierney
Niamh Burdett
Stephen Bohan, Patrick Broe, Niamh Burdett, Sean Carroll,
Eddie Cunningham, Brent Eastman, Eunan Friel, Niall
Hogan, Frank Keane, Ken Mealy, William MacGowan,Tom
McCarthy, Paul Nolan, Donncha O'Brien, Declan O'Byrne,
Orla Purcell, John Russell, Louise Sherwin, Colette Tully
For Advertising Inquiries:
Contact IFP Media
Tel: 00 353 1 289 3305. Email:
PuBlisheD By
IFP Media, 31 Deansgrange,
Blackrock, Co. Dublin.
For IFP MedIa:
Bernard Potter
Barry Sheehan
Ciaran Brougham, Martin Whelan,
Niall O'Brien, Michael Ryan
RCSI can accept no responsibility for the accuracy of contributors'
articles or statements appearing in this magazine and any views or
opinions expressed are not necessarily those of the organisation,
save where indicated. No responsibility for loss or distress to any
person acting or refraining from acting as a result of the material in
this publication can be accepted by authors, contributors, editors or
publishers. Readers should take specific advice when dealing with
specific situations.
Surgical Scope is an official publication of the Royal College of
Surgeons in Ireland, edited and published on behalf of RCSI by IFP
Media. No part of this publication may be reproduced in any mate-
rial form without the express written permission of the publishers.
Copyright RCSI Surgical Scope 2013.
09/2013 // edition/1
Surgical_Scope_ISSUE1.indd 3
04/09/2013 09:01:28