background image
news gAllery
PostgraDuate conferring ceremony
In total, 210 healthcare professionals were conferred with postgraduate awards at a conferring ceremony in RCSI on Monday, July 1, 2013.
Fellowships of RCSI in Cardiothoracic Surgery; General Surgery; Neurosurgery; Ophthalmology/Ophthalmic Surgery; Oral and Maxillofacial,
Otolaryngology; Paediatric; Trauma and Orthopaedic; and Urology were awarded at the ceremony along with five Fellowships of RCSI Ad
Eundem. Memberships of RCSI including Ophthalmology were also awarded.
Membership of the Faculty of dentistry.
(L-r): dr Brent eastman, President of the American College of Surgeons;
Mr david Moore, RCSi Council Member; and Professor Patrick Broe,
RCSi President. dr Brent eastman, President of the American College of
Surgeons was awarded an Honorary Fellowship of RCSi.
(L-r): Rory McConn Walsh; his mother, Patricia; his wife, Kathy;
Professor Patrick Broe, RCSi President; and Rory's children, Rebecca,
Hannah and Jessica.
(L-r): Phillip tomson; Mary tomson (graduate); Angela doherty; and
John doherty.
Day surgery
in irelanD
On Friday, April 12, RCSI
hosted a conference, Maximising
Day Surgery in Ireland. The
conference heard from leading
healthcare professionals involved
in day surgery and highlighted
the key developments and
challenges facing its nationwide
(L-r): Professor Seamus Cowman, Faculty of nursing
and Midwifery, RCSi; Mr Kieran Ryan, iCGP; dr darach
o'Ciardha; and dr Bobby Meshkat, SPR General
(L-r): Mr Sean Johnston; Mr Kieran Ryan, iCGP;
and Professor Frank Keane, RCSi.
Surgical_Scope_ISSUE1.indd 23
04/09/2013 09:02:15