background image
Congratulations to the School of Physiotherapy Prize Winners 2013-2014 who were
presented with their prizes at the White Coat Ceremony at the beginning of the new
academic term. Back Row: Therese Kinahan, Winner Second Physiotherapy; Ryan Fagan,
Joint Winner First Physiotherapy; and Evelyn Downes, Joint Winner First Physiotherapy.
Evelyn Downes also won the NUI Dr HH Stewart Award. Front Row: Vincent Healy
(Student Union President), Professor Marie Guidon, Professor Hannah McGee and
Professor Cathal Kelly. Missing from the picture are Sharon Cullen, Winner Final
Physiotherapy and Simon Galligan, Winner Foundation Year Physiotherapy.
2014 graduates Rebecca Mahon and Melissa
Nolan were awarded the RCSI Research Prize and
RCSI Clinical Prize respectively at the ISCP Annual
Dinner. Rebecca is shown here receiving her prize
from the Minister for Health, Leo Varadkar. Melissa
could not be there on the night as she is currently
working in Singapore.
UCL Institute of Child Health and Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children, UK
Sarah currently works at University College London (UCL) in the Institute of Child Health (ICH)
as a Senior Teaching Fellow on the Advanced Cardiorespiratory and Paediatrics Physiotherapy
postgraduate programmes. Since commencing at UCL full-time in January 2014, her role is
focused on co-ordinating and teaching on postgraduate physiotherapy modules, and acting
as a tutor and research supervisor for postgraduate physiotherapy students. Prior to this, she
worked at Great Ormond Street Children's Hospital (GOSH) as a part-time specialist cystic fibrosis
(CF) physiotherapist and as a part-time academic/research physiotherapist at the UCL ICH. She
continues to work closely with the CF clinical team at GOSH as Lead CF Research Physiotherapist.
MSc graduates (Neurology and Gerontology
and MSc by Research) with staff from the
School of Physiotherapy at the November
2014 conferring ceremony.