background image
Gala dinner
medicine, surgery, physiotherapy, pharmacy, nursing and
medical research from around the globe.
Addressing the Forum, the Minister for Education and Skills,
Ruairi Quinn, commented: "RCSI has flown the flag globally
for Irish educational excellence. By working with other
Colleges and Government agencies, there is a clear model
for success in place, which can deliver new relationships, as
it has in markets such as the Middle East and Asia. Trans-
national and online provision are going to constitute an ever
greater part of our international activities."
RCSI has been at the centre of medical education for more
than 200 years and has a worldwide network of 20,000
alumni in over 80 countries. RCSI trains approximately 3,500
students annually, 1,500 of whom are international students.
The College contributes 65m in direct export earnings
and an additional spend of approximately 20m, per
annum, by non-EU students on living costs in Ireland. RCSI
is also a major employer ­ with over 1,000 staff employed
throughout the College ­ and has increased the number of
students attending the School of Medicine by 9 per cent in
Other distinguished speakers at the Forum included
Professor Luc E. Weber from the University of Geneva;
Professor Michael Brennan from the Mayo Clinic, USA; and
Mr Michael Carey, Chairman of Bord Bia.
Professor Weber, whose keynote address was entitled
`Higher Education in 2020: Between Tradition and
Revolution', told the Forum: "Higher education is greatly
contributing to the changes in today's fast changing
world and knowledge, which is becoming the main pillar
of economic competitiveness, is our best hope to solve
threatening societal challenges." Being traditionally
conservative institutions, he added, universities are finding
themselves divided between remaining faithful to tradition
or embracing the revolution. However, Professor Weber
At the Gala Dinner: Dr Syed Zaman; Dr June O'Connor; Dr
Arwa Saidi; Dr Carmel Ann Daly; Dr Andrea Zman; and Dr Greg
Simons, Class of '88.
Dr Hwa Foo, Class of '93; Dr Meena
Kandiaff, Class of '93; Dr Bu O'Brien, Class
of '93; Dr John Sheehan, Class of '98;
Dr Muirín Tempany, Class of '94; and Dr
Siobhan Lynam, Class of '93.
Anne Crummie; Dr Arthur Crummie, Class
of '78; and Dr Michelle Cahill, Class of '78.
Dr Rogne Flaten, Knut Flatten, Vanessa Rufa, Dr Erik Rufa,
Dr Sheetal Mangalat, Dr Dev Mangalat, Class of 2003.
Dr Albhe O'Driscoll Collins, Class of
2013; Dr Fintan O'Hara, Class of 2013;
Gillian Burke, Final Year Medical Student;
and Dr Simon Clifford, class of 2013.