background image
Grinds Club is an initiative which offers free academic
support to individuals from our local community of Dublin's
South East Inner City who would be otherwise unable to
access such support. The club takes place twice weekly in
the St Stephen's Green campus of RCSI. Applications are
welcomed directly from individuals from the local community
and students attending our link schools. Support is also
available for individuals returning to education.
RCSI staff and students volunteer their time to work one-to-
one with a learner, providing academic support on a broad
range of subjects, at either Junior or Leaving Certificate
level. Additional support includes career guidance, study
skills, exam techniques, support with College and grant
applications, mock interviews and preparation for oral
examinations. The club aims to facilitate access to academic
support in a safe and informal environment. A key goal
is to contribute to breaking the cycle of educational
disadvantage, foster a positive view of education, raise
educational aspirations and familiarise participants with a
third level environment.
Debating Science Issues (DSI) is a dynamic competition
which invites young people to engage in debate on the
cultural, societal and ethical implications of advances in
biomedical science. This unique cross-border competition is
open to senior cycle second level students in the Republic
of Ireland and Northern Ireland. Participating schools can
avail of a three-hour interactive student workshop on a topic
related to biomedical science. RCSI is one of nine centres
mentoring schools in the competition and the All-Ireland
Final took place at RCSI's Albert Lecture Theatre for the
second time on February 22, 2013. Loyal supporters of each
of the finalists St Andrew's College, Blackrock, Co. Dublin;
Banbridge Academy, Banbridge, Co. Down; Pobalscoil
Gaoth Dobhair, Co. Donegal; and Sacred Heart Secondary
School, Clonakilty, Co. Cork travelled to cheer on their
After three rounds of debate on complex biomedical topics,
Banbridge Academy was declared the winner of the sixth
annual competition. Judges for the final included Terry
McWade, Deputy CEO, RCSI; Louise Mylotte, Lecturer, St.
Angela's College, Sligo; Katharine Jensen, CSR Manager,
Abbott Ireland; Oonagh Ward, Programme Manager at the
Health Research Board; Eimear Holohan and Dara Dunican,
both Scientific Programme Managers at SFI; Maria Daly,
Science Calling; Joan Flanagan, Education Liaison, European
Commission Representation in Ireland; and Hannah McGee,
Dean of Faculty of Medicine, RCSI.
A total of 25 primary school teachers participated in the
`Come to Your Senses' summer course. Using the theme
of the human senses, the course enabled primary school
teachers to develop their interest and enthusiasm for
teaching science with direct relevance to the primary science
curriculum for Social Environmental and Science Education
(SESE).The course provides teachers with alternative and fun
ways of teaching science to children, without the need for
expensive materials or equipment.
`Come to Your Senses' is part of RCSI's Primary Science for
Teachers Initiative (PSTI) which supports the teaching of
science in the classroom. It is a component of the REACH
RCSI programme that promotes recreation, education
and community health. Approved by the Department of
Education, it is fully funded by RCSI.
The RCSI PSTI team are Dr Jacqueline Daly, Dr Marc
DeVocelle, Ms Maria Kelly, Dr Maria Morgan and Dr Kenny
Winser. Of the total places on the course, 20 per cent were
reserved for schools that are part of the Delivering Equality
of Opportunity in Schools programme.
REACH RCSI programme engages
with Inner City Dublin
REACH (Recreation Education And Community Health) is the Community Outreach
and Access programme of RCSI. It aims to facilitate access to education for under-
represented groups and promote community health and social inclusion in the local
community of South Inner City Dublin
Warrenmount students and an RCSI Volunteer showing off their hula
hoop skills.
Dr Maria Morgan, Dr Kenny Winser, Dr Jackie Daly, Dr Marc
Devocelle, Ms Maria Kelly and Professor Hannah McGee.