Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Coláiste Ríoga na Máinleá in Éirinn

Department of Clinical Neurological Sciences

The Department of Clinical Neurological Sciences was established in 1993 and comprises all of the clinical specialists in neurology, neurosurgery, neuroradiology, neurophysiology and neuropathology working in Beaumont Hospital.

Each independent department has its own separate clinical and research structures but in several areas such as epilepsy, and mitochondrial and neuromuscular disease, there is considerable departmental interaction. Each of these clinical groupings is involved in the teaching of RCSI medical students. The academic department is under the direction of the Associate Chair in Clinical Neurological Sciences.


Formal undergraduate examinations are not held in any of the clinical neuroscience disciplines. Examination in each of these areas is conducted during the major professional examinations in Medicine, Surgery, Pathology and Anaesthetics.