background image
Honorary Fellowships
Mr Eugene David Vaughan and Dr Brian
Schmidt received honorary fellowships at
the Annual Scientific Meeting. This is the
highest honour that can be conferred on
an individual by the Faculty of Dentistry.
Exciting Development
RCSI Faculty of Dentistry is in the process
of finalising a contract with Hamad
Medical Corporation (HMC) in Qatar. The
purpose of this contract is to facilitate
RCSI Faculty of Dentistry providing
postgraduate educational programmes
in both MFD and FFD. This collaboration
will take place over a five-year period,
commencing in October 2015.
The Postgraduate Dental Education
Programme will be delivered in Dublin
and streamed online to Qatar. In
addition, extended visits from RCSI
Faculty of Dentistry Lecturers to Qatar to
provide intensive courses throughout the
five-year period will also take place. This
represents the largest single contract that
the Faculty of Dentistry has put in place
to date.
A record number of conferrings took
place between July 1, 2014 and June 30,
2015: 134 MFD and 32 FFD candidates
were conferred.
Awards promoting excellence
The Faculty of Dentistry presented a
number of awards to promote excellence
in the science and clinical practice of
Adrian Cowan Medal 2014,
Mr Cian Henry
Leo Heslin Memorial Medal 2015,
Mr Joshua Smyth
John McGimpsey Prize 2014,
Ms Kerry Hobson
Seamus Keating Prize 2014,
Mr TJ Horgan
Fourteenth Edward Leo Sheridan
Medal 2014, Mr Eugene David
Vaughan and Dr Brian Schmidt
Future plans
The Faculty of Dentistry is currently
exploring the possibility of setting up an
examination hub in Perdana University,
Dr Osama Omar completed his term as
Vice Dean of the Faculty of Dentistry. Dr
John Marley took up the position of Vice
Dean. Mr David Ryan retired from his
position as a long-standing member of
the Board of the Faculty of Dentistry.
Faculty Board
Dr John Walsh, Dean; Dr John
Marley, Vice-Dean; Professor David
Ryan, Honorary Secretary; Dr Gerry
Cleary, Honorary Treasurer; Professor
Christopher Lynch, Honorary Editor;
Professor Gerard Kearns, Education
Committee Chair; Mr Sean Sheridan,
Inspections and Recognition Committee
Chair; Board Members: Dr Kieran Daly,
Dr Billy Davis, Dr Albert Leung, Mr Peter
Ramsay-Baggs, Dr Alan McMichael,
Dr Sean Malone, Professor Osama Omer,
Dr Christine McCreary, Dr Edward Cotter.
A new relationship
has been established
between RCSI and
the University of
Malmö's dental
Pictured (l-r) are Ms Marie O'Neill and Ms Eimear McHugh who were awarded Fellowships of the Faculty of Dentistry (Oral Surgery) at the December 2014 Fellows,
Members and Diplomates Conferring Ceremony.