background image
A host of other research grants have also
been awarded to School researchers in
the past academic year, including Irish
Research Council Studentships and
Fellowships, SFI/EI Technology Innovation
Development Awards (TIDA) and EMBO
Short Term Fellowships.
The School was delighted in April 2015
to co-host, with the Department of
Molecular and Cellular Therapeutics and
the 3U Partnership, the 2015 Bill Bowman
Lecture of the British Pharmacological
Society, which was delivered by Dr Alexis
Bailey (University of Surrey, UK).
Key publications included articles in
high-impact journals including Journal
of Controlled Release, Molecular
Pharmaceutics, Tissue Engineering,
Advanced Healthcare Materials and
Research: Clinical Practice and Education
Increased activity in education and
clinical research was evident in 2014-
2015. Research training was provided
to both tutors and clinical partners
to assist with research development
and data collection, while funding was
received by Dr Judith Strawbridge and
Ms Michelle Flood for two educational
research projects as part of the 3U
N-Step programme. A national cohort
study of adherence to antihypertensive
medications in older Irish adults co-
ordinated by Dr Gráinne Cousins is in the
final stage of data collection. Dr Cousins
also received funding from the Health
Research Board to author a number of
papers in relation to alcohol dependence
using data from a national study on
alcohol consumption.
A study in paediatric critical care sedation
was funded by Temple Street Children's
Fund for Health. The study was led by Dr
Dermot Doherty (Temple Street Hospital)
in collaboration with Mr John Hayden,
Dr Gráinne Cousins and Professor Paul
Gallagher from the School and Drs
Cormac Breatnach and Martina Healy
from Crumlin Children's Hospital.
Continued key collaborations in clinical
practice research include: HRB, HRB
Centre for Primary Care Research, the
Irish Longitudinal Study on Ageing, with
clinical partners including the Mater
Hospital, Crumlin Children's Hospital and
St John of God.
A doubling of undergraduate summer
researchers was seen in the School this
year across the pharmaceutical sciences
and clinical practice research, supported
by both external and internal research
Key publications included articles in the
Irish Journal of Medical Science, Annals of
Family Medicine, HPB: the official journal
of the International Hepato Pancreato
Biliary Association, Antiviral Therapy and
the International Journal of Pharmacy
Appointments included: Ms Siún Aherne
(Academic Quality and Operations
Manager); Mr John Bourke (Practice
Liaison Pharmacist); Dr Liam Burke (Project
Manager); Ms Aurea Conroy (Senior
Operations Co-ordinator); Dr Eoin Cotter
(Technical and Laboratories Manager);
Mr Michael Cresswell (Project Manager);
Mr Paul Dillon (Senior Demonstrator); Dr
Samuel Maher (Lecturer); Mr Cian O Leary
(Lecturer); Dr Joanne Ramsey (Lecturer);
Ms Seona Rossi (Senior Demonstrator); Dr
Cristín Ryan (Senior Lecturer); Mr Darragh
Scannell (Operations Co-ordinator);
and Mr John Bourke (Practice Liaison
A new management structure has been
established with the formation of the
Leadership Team: Ms Siún Aherne, Dr
Eoin Cotter, Professor Sally Ann Cryan
(Lead in Research); Professor Paul
Gallagher (Head of School); Dr Helena
Kelly (Lead in Development); and Mr
Matthew Lynch (Lead in Education).
Dr Helena Kelly led on a Mini-Med
Series event in February 2015 examining
benzodiazepine usage in Irish society. A
lecture entitled "Mammy's Little Helper
­ the Irish Relationship with Anxiety
Medication" was delivered by Dolores
Keating, Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer
and Head of Pharmacy Services at St John
of God Hospital. Professor Gallagher
chaired a multidisciplinary panel debate.
Dr Steve Kerrigan is project lead on the
"RCSI MyHealth" app project which
aims to provide easy access to credible
health information in a clear and focused
manner. Following a showcase night
with Ireland's largest national health
associations, foundations and societies,
and in association with NHS Choices,
there are now over 700 conditions
included in the app, which is due to be
launched in September 2015.
Dr Kerrigan is also the Academic
Coordinator of the Transition Year Mini-
Med. This year, the programme attracted
over 450 applications from TY students
representing 300 schools nationally, who
were interested in knowing more about
what life is like being a pharmacist, doctor
or physiotherapist.
The School will
deliver a new, fully
integrated five-year
Master of Pharmacy
programme from
September 2015.
The launch of the five-year Master of Pharmacy programme in December 2014, at PSI House, are (l-r): Ms Leonie Clarke
(then President of the Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland); Mr Leo Varadkar (Minister for Health); Professor Hannah
McGee (Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences); and Professor Sally Ann Cryan (Lead in Research).